The Domaine des Comtes de la Bordina is located on the heights of the Principality of Monaco in an area formerly known as "Monte Carlo Superior". From 1894 to 1932, the plateau of La Bordina was one of the favourite stops of passengers of the funicular railway linking La Turbie to the Principality of Monaco for its breathtaking view from the Italian coast to the Prince's Palace.
The Domaine was founded in 1930 by Count Edmond de Fels. In 1984 Count Giancarlo Bonifazi di Statte and his wife Lydia were enchanted by the Domaine and became its owners.
The Count and his wife put all their efforts in restoring the Domaine's splendor of yesteryear and resumed an existing citrus production. Together, they had a daughter, Simona. She will one day take an active part in her parents project.
The Count is of Merovingian descent and is a member of one of the oldest families in Europe. Coincidentally, the first owner of the Domaine was also a descendant of the Merovingians. These two closely related families attraction to this land may not have been a coincidence after all.